YouTube

Got a YouTube account?

New: enable viewer-created translations and captions on your YouTube channel!

Arlecchino Appleseed—How Carlo Mazzone Clementi Brought Commedia dell'arte to the New World—Dell'Art

Contribute

Add a new language!

Already have subtitles for this video?
Upload them directly.

Dell'Arte International in Blue Lake, California presents the talk "Arlecchino Appleseed—How Carlo Mazzone-Clementi Brought Commedia dell'arte to the New World" livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday, July 7 at 10:30am PDT (Los Angeles) / 12:30pm CDT (Chicago) / 1:30pm EDT (New York) / 17:30 GMT / 6:30pm BST (London) / 19:30 CEST (Rome).

In Twitter use #howlround and #dai40th and follow @howlroundtv and @dellarte.

Broadcast from Dell'Arte International's Carlo Theatre in Blue Lake California as part of Dell'Arte International's 40th reunion—a celebration of 40 years of artistic creation, collaboration, community engagement, and actor-training.

Italian-born Carlo Mazzone-Clementi (1920 -2000) and Jane Hill planted Dell'Arte Inc. in Blue Lake, California in 1974 and opened the school in 1975. Founding Artistic Director Joan Schirle presents a slide lecture on Carlo's early years in Italy, his arrival in the US, and his importance to the spread of physical theatre, New Vaudeville, and Commedia dell'Arte in North America. This will be followed by comments and perspectives on Carlo's teaching and his influence by those whose life he impacted—former colleagues, alumni, and family—in his always chaotic, contradictory and visionary life.

About Dell’Arte International:
Dell’Arte International is the work of a community of artists located amidst the majestic redwoods and rugged beauty of California’s North Coast. The combination of our actor training programs, the original touring productions of the Dell’Arte Company, our summer festival, and our work in economic/community development make us a destination unlike any other on the American theatre map.

Mission and Purpose:
Dell’Arte is the North American center for theatre training, research, and performance of the actor-creator. We are a regional arts center serving the large rural area of California’s North Coast. International in scope, grounded in the natural living world and inspired by our non-urban setting, Dell’Arte explores theatre making, theatre practice and theatre training for ourselves and our community, for the world, and for the future. One of our deepest values is engendering the relationship between art and place, artist and community. We are a committed community of artists who for over 35 years have modeled and shared a sustained ensemble practice. DAI consists of a professional, international touring ensemble, the Dell’Arte Company; a professional training program, Dell’Arte International School of Physical Theatre, offering a one-year certificate program and the only accredited MFA in Ensemble-based Physical Theatre in the world; and the annual summer Mad River Festival.

We are organizational members of the Theatre Communications Group (TCG), Association of Theatre Movement Educators (ATME), and the Network of Ensemble Theatres (NET).

About Joan Schirle:
Joan Schirle (Founding Artistic Director) met Carlo Mazzone-Clementi and Jane Hill in 1975 when they asked her to join the faculty of their newly open school. In 1976 she, Carlo and Jon'Paul Cook founded the Dell'Arte Players Company, which has logged three decades of international touring. She served as director of the Dell’Arte International School of Physical Theatre from 2003 – 2011. An actor, playwright, director, deviser and teacher, her acting work was recognized with a 2006 Fox Foundation/TCG Resident Actor Fellowship. In 2004 she was honored at the 16th Cairo International Experimental Theatre Festival as a leader in the field of experimental theatre. Her essay on Mazzone's importance to the field of physical theatre and devising in North America appears in The Routledge Companion to Commedia dell'Arte.