Our mission

Working to build a more open, participatory world

We want everyone to benefit from online video content. We believe that accessibility, inclusion, and belonging lead to a more understanding and caring world.

Learn more about PCF

La diferencia de Amara

Amara is a project of the Participatory Culture Foundation (PCF), a nonprofit 501(c)(3). As a nonprofit, our mission is built into the structure of our organization.

Nonprofit Tech

To support our mission, we’re building a new path at the intersection of nonprofit and tech. We have created an innovative approach to making media content accessible worldwide with our cloud-based software platform:

  • ✔ Award-Winning Captioning and Subtitling Editor
  • ✔ Collaborative Team Management Workspace
  • ✔ Expert team of 2500+ professional linguists

La comunidad de Amara

Our community is made up of online educators, filmmakers, volunteers, language experts, partners, and funders. We all work together to make it possible for more people to benefit from the growing volume of video content available.

A woman's smiling face

Amara Volunteers

Amara is powered by people who care. Help make video accessible around the globe by volunteering for a caption or translation team.

Become a Volunteer
The NOWNESS logo

Amara On Demand Clients

NOWNESS is a movement launched in 2010 for creative excellence in storytelling across art, design, fashion, beauty, music, food, and travel.

Purchase Subtitles
Net in Nederland – NiNL logo

Amara Enterprise Clients

Net in Nederland is a website from the public broadcaster offering refugees and immigrants a guide to Dutch society through fully translated content.

Sign up Now

Amara Partners

Wikitongues collects video oral histories from each of the world's more than 7,000 language communities to preserve our common cultural heritage.

Become a Partner

Help Fund Our Mission

PCF is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization dedicated to creating technologies, services, and supporting communities to ensure a more collaborative, inclusive world. All revenues earned from Amara products and services support program, administrative, and operational costs related to PCF’s mission-driven efforts.

Please consider supporting our work and making a direct impact by donating to our mission!

Donate today

Our Core Team

Meet the insanely talented, culturally diverse, and fun group of people that make up the Amara team. 👇

Ana-Maria Lupu

Ana-Maria Lupu (she/her)

Customer Success Specialist

ana-maria@amara.org

Bucharest, Romania

Hiker, blogger, adventurer

Edna Odongo

Edna Odongo (she/her)

Customer Success Specialist

edna@amara.org

Nairobi, Kenya

Foodie, fitness fanatic, and wine guzzler

Erin O'Driscoll

Erin O'Driscoll (she/her)

Customer Success and Tech Support Specialist

erin@amara.org

Nerja, Spain

Archaeologist, sunbather, karaoke singer

Liane Riscu

Liane Riscu (she/her)

Customer Success Specialist

liane@amara.org

Somewhere in Europe

LEGO geek, book nerd, space explorer

Mirjam Sonnleithner

Mirjam Sonnleithner (she/her)

Customer Success Specialist

mirjam@amara.org

San Francisco, CA, USA

Life long learner, nature lover

Jenny Lam-Chowdhury

Jenny Lam-Chowdhury (she/her)

Operations Manager

jenny@amara.org

New York, NY, USA

Food explorer, culinary translator

Marília Correia

Marília Correia (she/her)

Assistant Operations Manager

marilia@amara.org

Recife, Brazil

Traveler, translator, soccer fan

Fran Ontanaya

Fran Ontanaya (he/him)

Senior Technical Operations Manager

fran@amara.org

Torrent, Spain

Sci-fi fan, computer geek

Joanna Lam

Joanna Lam (she/her)

Senior Project Manager

joanna@amara.org

Buenos Aires, Argentina

Baker, student mode

Thais M. Barros

Thais M. Barros (she/her)

Senior Project Manager

thais@amara.org

São Paulo, Brazil

Dogs, plants and food enthusiast

Sebastião Nascimento

Sebastião Nascimento (he/him)

Senior Project Manager

sebastiao@amara.org

Curitiba, Brazil

History, music, and literature lover

Melanie Dychinco-Ty

Melanie Dychinco-Ty (she/her)

Senior Project Manager

melanie@amara.org

Quezon City, Philippines

Artist, researcher, musician, and bowler

Natalia Savvidi

Natalia Savvidi (she/her)

Senior Project Manager

natalia@amara.org

Athens, Greece

Physicist, programmer, translator, hiker

Viviane M.

Viviane M. (she/her)

Senior Project Manager, Key Accounts

viviane@amara.org

Vacaville, CA, USA

Amateur chef, chocolate and photography enthusiast

Liane Riscu

Liane Riscu (she/her)

Communications Dragon

liane@amara.org

Somewhere in Europe

LEGO geek, book nerd, space explorer

Allison Buford Moon

Allison Buford Moon (they/them)

Marketing Associate

allison@amara.org

Clemson, SC, USA

Writer, designer, plant parent

Thais M. Barros

Thais M. Barros (she/her)

Marketing Associate

thais@amara.org

São Paulo, Brazil

Dogs, plants and food enthusiast

Sam Slottow

Sam Slottow (they/he)

Marketing Associate

sam@amara.org

Baltimore, MD, USA

Actor, musician, coffee scientist

Rieann Brown

Rieann Brown (she/her)

Tech Support Project Manager, Key Accounts

rieann@amara.org

PNW, USA

Star gazer, mycologist, dreamer

Erin O'Driscoll

Erin O'Driscoll (she/her)

Customer Success and Tech Support Specialist

erin@amara.org

Nerja, Spain

Archaeologist, sunbather, karaoke singer

Allison Buford Moon

Allison Buford Moon (they/them)

Product Specialist

allison@amara.org

Clemson, SC, USA

Writer, designer, plant parent

Ronald Osure

Ronald Osure (he/him)

Lead Software Engineer

ronald@pculture.org

Nairobi, Kenya

Cyclist, minimalist, astro nerd

Dan Reyes

Dan Reyes (he/him)

Software Engineer

dan@pculture.org

Metro Manila, Philippines

Pet parent, Boba tea lover

Margarita Shamraeva

Margarita Shamraeva (she/her)

Quality Assurance Manager

mshamraeva@pculture.org

Vancouver, Canada

Technology fan, language learner, table tennis player

Laura Morgantini

Laura Morgantini (she/her)

Lead Product and Delivery Manager

laura@pculture.org

Qualicum Beach, Canada

Sports and outdoor enthusiast

Robert P.

Robert P. (he/him)

Amara Product and UX Designer

robert@pculture.org

Canary Islands, Spain

Dreamer & Maker

Kathy Torres

Kathy Torres (she/her)

Finance and Human Resources

kathy@pculture.org

Aldie, VA, USA

Puzzler, soccer and swimming fan, tech-aficionado

Rieann Brown

Rieann Brown (she/her)

Finance

rieann@amara.org

PNW, USA

Star gazer, mycologist, dreamer

Viviane M.

Viviane M. (she/her)

Finance

viviane@amara.org

Vacaville, CA, USA

Amateur chef, chocolate and photography enthusiast

Sam Slottow

Sam Slottow (they/he)

Recruiting Manager, Team Support

sam@amara.org

Baltimore, MD, USA

Actor, musician, coffee scientist

Aleli Alcala

Aleli Alcala (she/they)

Chief Operations and Sustainability Officer

aleli@pculture.org

Ann Arbor, MI, USA

Sports fan, nature lover, walker of Kaia (the dog!)

Dean Jansen

Dean Jansen (he/him)

Executive Director and CEO

dean@pculture.org

Albuquerque, NM, USA

Roller skater, cook, grower of stuff

Our Expertise

Working to build a more inclusive media ecosystem since 2006.

Translation and Localization Services

Order from our expert Translation and Localization Team - Amara on Demand. With 2500+ language experts, Amara ensures your captions and subtitles are created by native speakers in order to localize your content for better cultural engagement.

Get started

Subtitle Editor


Use our multi-award winning Editor: A cloud-based do-it-yourself solution with world class captioning and subtitling features. Suitable for teams and projects of all sizes.

Start subtitling for free