Performance of The Breath of Stars by Caridad Svich—A World Premiere Production—Carthage College, Wi

Performance of The Breath of Stars by Caridad Svich—A World Premiere Production—Carthage College, Wi

Carthage College Theatre (Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA) and the Carthage New Play Initiative present The Breath of Stars, a world-premiere production by Obie Award-winning theatre artist Caridad Svich livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at Friday, March 11 at 5:30pm PST (Los Angeles) / 7:30pm CST (Chicago) / 8:30pm EST (New York).

Prospero is gone, leaving Ariel only with grief, memory and Facebook. Miranda longs for her lost brother, and Caliban wanders, lost and alone, with nothing to lose. In The Breath of Stars, Caridad Svich has crafted a poetic and innovative exploration of love, loss and memory, reconfiguring Shakespeare's The Tempest for the digital age.

Visit Carthage College Theatre's Facebook Page for more info. Join the conversation in Twitter with #HowlRound and #CarthageBoS.

Carthage College is committed to new and innovative work. The Breath of Stars is the eighth installment in Carthage's annual New Play Initiative, for which a new play is commissioned annually by an acclaimed playwright. Past collaborators include Eric Simonson, Laura Jacqmin, Rick Cleveland, Jeffrey Hatcher, and Keith Huff. The program has also featured international collaborations: Carthage partnered with Aparna Dharwadker to develop the authorized translation of Mohan Rakesh's modern Hindi classic One Day in the Season of Rain, and with Martin Maguire and the Gaiety School of Acting to develop A Clamour of Rooks, which premiered at Smock Alley, Dublin. The program has also helped to inspire student playwrights, with student-written work having been in Carthage's last two mainstage seasons.

Caridad Svich, winner of the 2012 OBIE Award for Lifetime Achievement, is a celebrated playwright, songwriter, editor, and translator. She won a 2012 Edgerton Foundation New Play Award for Guapa, and the 2011 American Theatre Critics Association Primus Prize for The House of the Spirits, based on the Isabel Allende novel. Five of her plays radically re-imagine ancient Greek tragedies, and The Breath of Stars is her second re-imagining of Shakespeare.

Director: Neil Kristian Scharnick
Scenic Design: Martin McClendon
Costume Design: Kim Instenes
Lighting Design: William Newcomb
Sound Design: Conor O'Brien & Colleen Ochab
Production Stage Manager: Ashley Pavlak
Asst. Stage Manager: Brandi Tennessen
Cast: Christian Aldridge, Maura Atwood, Jordan Horne, Lauren McKee, Ilirida Memedovski, Jordan Nazos, Conor O'Brien, Corrie Riedl, David Rodriguez, Hayley Sherwood, Marie Treadway, Paige Whitney, Austin Winter

more » « less
Format: Youtube Primary Original Synced
This video is part of Amara Public.