CRIME: A response to Crime and Punishment by Feodor Dostoievsky with GLOD on Monday 5 April 2021

Title:
CRIME: A response to Crime and Punishment by Feodor Dostoievsky with GLOD on Monday 5 April 2021
Description:

Glod: Political Theatre as a Civil Right presents CRIME: A response to Crime and Punishment by Feodor Dostoievsky livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 5 April 2021 at 10 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 1 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 6 p.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 20:00 EEST (Cluj, UTC +3).

GLOD
Romanian noun

Wet earth (soaked by rain water or melted snow)
Mud
Clay

From the Hungarian galád or the Russian глуда (gluda)

1991-1993. St. Petersburg, Russia.

Communism falls. Unfettered Capitalism rises. The student of law believes that the free market economy will bring his country freedom. The family is optimistic about the wealth of the new future. There is mass privatisation. The family is broken by debt. The unemployed man kills himself. Pensions are cut. The student abandons his old mother after she arranges his sister's marriage to a rich man. The single mother sells her daughter's body for a McDonalds meal. The student murders the pawnbroker in order to rob her.

CRIME depicts the reality of a country ravaged by deregulated Capitalism. We want to ask why we continue to allow this violence to happen.

“…CRIME is fucking angry and it’s fucking bleak…and it feels exactly like the play that today’s Britain needs most right now. ” — Andrew Haydon, Postcards from the Gods

Winner of the Special Jury Prize for best performance and Best male actor (Theo St. Claire) at the International Theatre Festival of Suceava, Romania.

More on the show here.

Following the stream of the production will be a panel discussion. Panel to be announced.

Cast: Theo St. Claire, Oliver Longstaff, Angel Lopez Silva, Mathew Wernham
Writer and director: Nico Vaccari
Dramaturge: Sînziana Koenig
Costume and set designer: Robin Soutar
Light designer: Alex Hopkins

#GlodSessions

To support BÉZNĂ Theatre please consider donating here.

Hosted by Howlround Theatre Commons,

Coordinated by BÉZNĂ Theatre: A British Romanian theatre company making work that investigates societal inequalities & confronts institutional & normalised violences. Pivotal to our work are close collaborations with activists & academics during field research, inclusion of communities in our process & emancipatory actions to enact lasting change.

https://howlround.com/happenings/livestreaming-performance-crime-response-crime-and-punishment-feodor-dostoievsky

more » « less
Duration:
02:31:48
Format: Youtube Primary Original Synced
This video is part of Amara Public.