The Sitaraha (The Stars) by Monirah Hashemi on Monday 22 February 2021

Title:
The Sitaraha (The Stars) by Monirah Hashemi on Monday 22 February 2021
Description:

Glod: Political Theatre as a Civil Right presented extracts of work by Monirah Hashemi livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 22 February at 10 a.m. PST (San Francisco, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. EST (New York, UTC -54) / 6 p.m. GMT (London, UTC +0) / 8 p.m. EET (Cluj, UTC +2).

GLOD
Romanian noun

Wet earth (soaked by rain water or melted snow)
Mud
Clay

From the Hungarian galád or the Russian глуда (gluda)

Monirah Hashemi was born to Afghan parents living in Iran as refugees. Discovering early the power of storytelling, she moved back to Afghanistan in 2004 at 19, where she started acting in films and co-founded Simorgh Film Association of Culture and Art. At 21, she wrote and directed her debut play, Cry of History, which was performed in Herat to a mixed audience at the country’s first educational theatre festival in 2006. The play, the first one in Afghanistan to be produced solely by women, went on to win the festival’s best play award in Herat and Kabul International Theater Festival and performed in National School of Drama Theater Festival in Mumbai and New Delhi in India.

Due to her involvement in theatre, writing and directing political plays she left Afghanistan and relocated to Sweden late 2013.

Sitaraha – The Stars, directed by Leif Persson, was her first work produced in Sweden; telling the stories of women in Afghanistan spanning 130 years to the present day. The play was staged April 2014, and since then toured in USA, UK, South Africa, Canada, Australia, Germany, Italy and Sweden.

Following Sitarah will be a panel discussion between Monirah, Afghan actor & activist Shala Nyx and long term collaborator of Monirah's - Asad Buda. The piece will have English subtitles and the discussion will be in English.

Register here for instructions on how to submit questions in advance and watch.

To support BÉZNĂ Theatre please consider donating here.

Hosted by Howlround Theatre Commons,

Coordinated by BÉZNĂ Theatre: A British Romanian theatre company making work that investigates societal inequalities & confronts institutional & normalised violences. Pivotal to our work are close collaborations with activists & academics during field research, inclusion of communities in our process & emancipatory actions to enact lasting change.

https://howlround.com/happenings/extracts-work-monirah-hashemi

more » « less
Duration:
01:15:56
Format: Youtube Primary Original Synced
This video is part of Amara Public.