YouTube

Got a YouTube account?

New: enable viewer-created translations and captions on your YouTube channel!

Turmeric Curcumin Reprogramming Cancer Cell Death

Contribute

Add a new language!

Already have subtitles for this video?
Upload them directly.

Get Embed Code
4 Languages

Subscribe for free to Dr. Greger's videos at:
http://bit.ly/nutritionfactsupdates

DESCRIPTION: The spice turmeric appears to be able to switch back on the self-destruct mechanism within cancer cells.

This is the last of a three part video series on turmeric and cancer. If you missed the first two, check out: Back to Our Roots: Curry (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/back-to-our-roots-curry-and-cancer) and Carcinogen Blocking Effects of Turmeric Curcumin (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/carcinogen-blocking-effects-of-turmeric-curcumin).

Other herbs and spices such as garlic (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/1-anticancer-vegetable/) and amla (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/some-ayurvedic-medicine-worse-than-lead-paint-exposure/) have similar selective effects against cancer cell.

I talk more about this concept of "apoptosis," programmed cell death in:
• Clonal Deletion Theory of Immunity (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/clonal-deletion-theory-of-immunity/)
• Ex Vivo Cancer Proliferation Bioassay (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/developing-an-ex-vivo-cancer-proliferation-bioassay/)
• Is It the Diet, the Exercise, or Both? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-it-the-diet-the-exercise-or-both/)
• The Answer to the Pritikin Puzzle (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-answer-to-the-pritikin-puzzle/)

What else can turmeric do? Here's the videos I have so far (with more on the way!):
• Who Shouldn't Consume Curcumin or Turmeric? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/who-shouldnt-consume-curcumin-or-turmeric/)
• Turmeric Curcumin and Rheumatoid Arthritis (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/turmeric-curcumin-and-rheumatoid-arthritis/)
• Boosting the Bioavailability of Curcumin (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/boosting-the-bioavailability-of-curcumin/)
• Spicing Up DNA Protection (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/spicing-up-dna-protection/)
• Which Spices Fight Inflammation? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/which-spices-fight-inflammation/)
• Turmeric Curcumin and Osteoarthritis (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/turmeric-curcumin-and-osteoarthritis/)

Stay tuned for another 3-part cancer series coming up in a week or two:
1. Phytates for the Prevention of Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/phytates-for-the-prevention-of-cancer)
2. Phytates for Rehabilitating Cancer Cells (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/phytates-for-rehabilitating-cancer-cells)
3. Phytates for the Treatment of Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/phytates-for-the-treatment-of-cancer)

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/turmeric-curcumin-reprogramming-cancer-cell-death/ and he'll try to answer it!